AGM Report

20/11/2008 18:28

The AGM was held on Nov 10th.


The highlight of the evening was a presentation to John Shakespear, who stood down as chairman after 21 years of sterling work in this crucial role – 21 years which have witnessed an extraordinary development of the club both on and off the field which is in large measure due to his chairmanship. As a token of the club’s appreciation, he was presented with an inscribed hip-flask which will no doubt help him to keep warm as he waits eagerly for next summer to start!

Bob James was elected as his successor and in accepting this position, said that he was only too acutely aware that he had a hard act to follow.  He also expressed the hope that John would still be involved, because his knowledge of the club was second to none and his expertise in funding and ground and building matters in particular would still be much needed.

The new chairman went on to point out that the expansion of the club over the past fifteen years had been remarkable.

In the early 90s, there were two Saturday sides, a Sunday XI and just one youth team (U17s).  Now we ran four Saturday teams and five youth teams in addition to the Sunday XI.

We also had two grounds to maintain, with the playing area at Rolleston being considerably bigger than it was even five years ago.

It was unreasonable to expect the existing officials to continue to try to pick up the extra workload that expansion has brought and continues to bring.  We needed the involvement of more members to carry out the huge number of jobs that needed to be done in the pavilion, on the ground, in coaching youngsters and in administration.  Each playing member would be approached directly to identify some area where he could offer help in the running and maintenance of the club, and some changes might well be needed in the committee structure to enable the work to be shared and completed as effectively and efficiently as possible.

Bob  added that with this support, he was  sure that we could go forward together and not only maintain the best traditions of the past , but also continue to progress in what is, whether we like it or not, a rapidly changing cricketing world.

The following captains and vice-captains were elected:

Ist XI and club captain

Graham Dent

Ist XI vice-captain

Alex Britton

2nd XI captain

Anton Williams

2nd XI vice-captain

Richard Wyatt

3rd XI captain

Mick Clay

3rd XI vice-captain

David Gallagher

4th XI team secretary

Alan Featherstone

Sunday XI captain

Anton Williams

Alan Partington, Barry Wynne, Trevor Foster and Mick Acton were re-elected as President, Hon Treasurer, Hon Secretary and Hon Bar Secretary respectively, whilst Nigel Winfield agreed to take over as social secretary and Ian Wakefield has assumed the chairmanship of the pavilion and ground committee.

Mick Clay continues as Fixture Secretary, but unfortunately the fund-raising committee of Di Henderson, Angie Cobley and Di Henderson has resigned, leaving a huge gap to be filled.  Thanks to their energy and initiative, a great deal of finance has been raised over the last two years, and we desperately need members to offer to take over this vital activity.

The “Clubman of the Year” shield was awarded to John Hodson in recognition of all the marvellous work he has done, not only in maintaining all the ground machinery, but also in producing the immaculately manicured outfield - a real labour of love.